Favourite Children’s Books

With so many children’s books out there it’s really exciting finding treasures you can add to your little one’s collection. This can be said for me! I’m already busy collecting for LL’s bookshelf, picking up story books she can enjoy in years to come. Some are for me to read to her when she’s a little older to understand more complex stories other than ABC board books! Some I’ve had since I was a child and others I’ve picked up since she was born…

The World of Peter Rabbit – Complete Collection of Original Tales (Beatrix Potter) Even now I’m still obsessed with the enchanting world of Beatrix Potter. My absolute all time favourite. I can’t remember a time in my life when she wasn’t in it. There’s something quite magical about all her tales, they are spellbinding and take me back to such a wonderfully happy, contented and safe place as a little girl. I own The Beatrix Potter Collection on DVD, too and LL adores watching it. She’s mesmerised by the gorgeous animation and the music. Whenever I hear the intro I get butterflies in my tummy. Watching this is a little part of heaven for me, and snuggling down with LL and flicking through the books is such a special time. I can’t wait until she’s old enough to enjoy reading them herself, too. We picked these up on our honeymoon when we visited The World of Beatrix Potter in Windermere, long before I was pregnant!

The Four Seasons of Brambly Hedge (Jill Barklem)- I discovered the magical world of Brambly Hedge a little later on as a child, but as soon a second I did I fell in love with it. This delightful collection of tales through the seasons should adorn every child’s bookshelf in my opinion! The perfect bedtime story to snuggle down to. The illustrations are just beautiful and I especially love the scene in the kitchen where Mrs. Crustybread and Mrs. Apple are busy baking treats for Wilfred’s surprise picnic!

Guess How Much I Love You (Sam McBratney) – A beautiful tale about the special bond between patent and child. The illustrations are gorgeous and will appeal to children of all ages. LL was given a Little Nutbrown Hare soft toy which she has in her cot, too, and it’s lovely that she can cuddle him whilst we read her the story.

Guess How Much I Love You All Year Round (Sam McBratney ) – An adorable collection of more tales of Little Nutbrown Hare and Big Nutbrown Hair. Spring, Summer, Autumn and Winter, we read one of these to LL at bedtime whilst she has her milk.

Can’t You Sleep Little Bear? (Martin Waddell) – Its bedtime and Little Bear can’t sleep. He is scared of the dark, but Big Bear is there to reassure him. A favourite of mine as a child, my Dad used to read this to me most evenings before bed. 

If I Could Keep You Little (Marianne Richmond) – If I Could Keep You Little speaks straight to every parent’s heart, exploring the powerful feeling of wanting your child to grow up while savoring every moment. Fetch the tissues!

You are my Heart (Marianne Richmond) – From the author of If I Could Keep You Little, You are my Heart is a book you and your child can treasure offering a sweet, magical moment you can share again and again. 

Have you got any favourites in your child’s collection? Please share! Xxx

Leave a Reply

