Christmas Traditions…

Christmas is probably my favourite time of the year. That build up to the special day is equally as exciting as the actual day itself! What could be more heavenly than spending time with loved ones, eating, drinking and generally being merry?

img_6839

This year is LL’s second Christmas and she’ll be a bit more involved than she was last year! She was two months old so spent most of the day sleeping. She’ll be able to enjoy our excitement of spending the day with her and watching her open her presents and enjoy some yummy food! I’m sooo excited for the years to come where we can really add some magic into her Christmas with traditions. Right now we just have the decorations but I’m secretly planning bits and bobs for when she’s a bit older. I’ve found lots of wonderful new traditions from other mummy bloggers (Mrs Meldrum, you’re officially AMAZING! Check this lovely ladies YouTube channel out for fantastic ideas, a lot of which I have included in my new traditions section. Genius!) Here are my Christmas traditions, old and new!

Traditions That Have Always Been…

Watching A Christmas Carol – I love this film, my favourite version being the one with Patrick Stewart as Scrooge. This film gets me in the Christmas spirit!

Reading The Good Little Christmas Tree – This book was a gift to me from my parents one Christmas. It’s absolutely beautiful, the story is so magical and the illustrations are stunning. I can’t wait until we can read it with LL.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Choosing special Christmas cards – At the start of December I go out and purchase personalised Christmas cards for our loved ones. I love choosing them and giving them to our nearest and dearest, I think it reflects how we feel about them and how much we love them.

Putting up the tree and decorations- As a child, there was nothing more exciting than putting up the Christmas tree and helping to decorate it. Out came the nativity scene, fairly lights and twinkly treasures. I can’t wait until LL can join in decorating our tree each year and seeing her face light up at the finished result.

Traditions I Can’t Wait To Start…

Putting out treats for Santa and Rudolf – As children my brother and I would get so excited about doing this. Just before bed we would put a glass or sherry and a mince pie out on the fireplace for Santa and then scurry outside and leave a bowl of water and a carrot for Rudolf outside the front door. We were bursting with excitement and it’s a memory I’ll always treasure.

Choosing Christmas Decorations – There are so many lovely craft fairs and garden centres that sell festive decorations. My aim is for LL to choose a decoration each year and add to our collection. Then when she leaves home I can wrap them all up beautifully and give them to her as a gift and she can take them with her to decorate her own tree.

Writing a letter to Santa – My brother and I used to love doing this! We even got a reply! 

The Elf on the Shelf This is something I’ve heard about only recently. You can purchase the book which explains all about the story of Santa’s scout elves, who are sent to be Santa’s eyes and ears at children’s homes around the world! When a family adopts a scout elf and gives it a name, the scout elf receives his or her Christmas magic and can fly to the North Pole each night to tell Santa Claus about all of the day’s adventures – that’s how Santa knows who’s been naughty and who’s been nice! I love this idea and have seen some amazing photos of people’s elves getting up to mischief in their household! One Elf was in a little girl’s dolls house, sitting in a bath filled with mini marshmallows! I think it would be so much fun creating mischief in our home with our own Elf!

A Christmas Eve Box – This is a lovely idea and something I’ve never thought about doing before. You can make a little hamper up, containing new pyjamas (Christmas themed, of course!), Christmas bed socks or slippers, a Christmas activity book with pens or pencils, a Christmas film and a Christmas mug with some hot chocolate and marshmallows. Then you can all snuggle up on the sofa in your new pj ‘s, hot chocolate in hand and watch your movie.

Alternative Advent Calender – Instead of buying a chocolate advent calender why not purchase 24 Christmas themed story books or Christmas themed goodies for the little ones instead? A little more pricey than your standard calender but with so many pound and bargain shops around you can pick up some lovely bits and bobs. With the new craze of beauty advent calenders for us ladies it’d be nice to give something a bit more alternative and special for the kiddies, too.

Take a walk full of surprises! – We love going for walks and as I was thinking about new traditions this idea popped into my head. Almost like an Easter egg hunt but Christmas themed, why not pop a few surprises on your regular route for the kids to find? It could be some jingle bells from Rudolf’s collar hanging from a branch, a sparkly star decoration sent from an angel or a homemade gingerbread man wrapped up in festive paper from Mrs Claus. A little bit of fun for all the family.

Only read Christmas stories during the month of December – This is a lovely idea, and really gets everyone in the mood for Christmas. When else are you going to read them?

Baking goodies as gifts – As we all know, Christmas can be an expensive time. We only buy for parents and siblings now, but I have lots of close friends who I’d love to give a gift to. I’m now making it my mission to make yummy goodies as a little gesture for people we care about. Chocolate truffles, Christmas cookies or mulled wine, anything that takes your fancy! Wrap them in pretty papers and cellophane tied with a bow and write little brown tags.

Have you got any Christmas traditions? I’d love to hear them! Xxx

img_6837

Leave a Reply

