What’s in my Make-up Bag

Being such a massive make up lover I really enjoy reading “what’s in my make up bag” posts. Discovering products other people love and recommend is really exciting and can completely change up your look. You never know what products you might be missing out on. I’ve had a bit of a make up overhaul recently. My make up bag used to be on the verge of overflowing, I had so much stuff in there. I would forget about the products I occasionally used and as a result they wouldn’t be suitable to use anymore (in other words they have gone off and I’m pretty strict about throwing away opened, unused products!) I’ve slowly got it down to items I use every single day (my go to products that I can’t be without.) So my make up collection is no way near as vast as it used to be, but the products I have now fit in with my life as a mummy and work for me. I’m a high street make up girl and only splurge on an expensive product every now and again.

Foundation (Boots Time Delay BB Cream, Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse and L’Oréal True Match) – I have tried so many foundations over the years, lots of them failing to deliver both in shade and coverage. I have a fair, almost porcelain skin with yellow undertones, and it’s really difficult to find a shade that isn’t too pink or too orange. When I did the coverage was poor, and I’d end up with patchy areas or applying so much product just to get a decent coverage that my skin felt like it couldn’t breathe. Then I discovered Boots Time Delay BB cream…wow, wow and wow some more. A little goes a very long way, it’s so quick and easy to blend. The consistency is more like a foundation rather than a BB cream but it doesn’t feel too heavy, it’s really satiny and buffs onto the skin like a dream. Apply with fingers, a foundation brush or a sponge, and the result with any of these is pretty impressive. At first glance the shade seems slightly dark but somehow it just blends in to my skin and looks really natural. Within seconds my face is transformed from sleep deprived to fresh and glowy. It has to be my favourite, I love it! Maybelline Dream Mousse is really easy to blend and is great for oily skin, I like to have one in. It stays put all day and looks flawless. L’Oréal True Match is the lightest in coverage but easily builds up and blends really nicely. It’s slightly too pink for my skin tone but somehow it seems to always look good so I keep using it.

img_6915

Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer (Fair) – I first discovered this whilst watching one of Tanya Burr’s make up videos on her YouTube channel. She was raving about this product, and having struggled to find a really good concealer I decided to give it a go myself. And I’m so glad I did, it has transformed my make up base. Spots, dark under eye circles, pigmentation…this product conceals it all. It blends beautifully and is pretty much fool proof. I couldn’t be without it now. Thank you Tanya!

img_6916

Natural Collection Pressed Powder (Neutral) – This Pressed powder is the perfect shade and the coverage is very natural. I like to apply with a powder puff then use a large, soft face brush just to dust off. It sets my base and I’ve found I don’t need to reapply during the day.

img_6917

NARS Dual Intensity Blush (Adoration) – This is the one item in my make up collection that was a bit of a splurge. I originally saw it in Selfridges and fell in love with the shimmery hot pink shade. I also love the powder pink highlighter, I use it in the corner of my eyes to make them pop, on my Cupid’s bow to make my lips appear a little fuller and on my cheekbones for an iridescent glow.

img_6922

Seventeen Instant Glow Shimmer Brick – This shimmer powder is gorgeous. I use the shade Pink Gold, but the other shade in Gold Bronze is just as beautiful. I use this all over my face, especially on the cheekbones and eyelids. If you wet an eyeshadow brush and apply it creates a beautiful foiled effect and the colour is more vivid. Very versatile and perfect worn all year round.

img_6923

MUA Eyeshadow Palette and Barry M Dazzle Dust – I love MUA’s shadows, they’re amazingly quality. I’ve just added this palette to my collection and I love it. Barry M Dazzle Dust pots are perfect. A little goes a long way and they are gorgeous on. I prefer the neutral, shimmery shades, and I’m currently using No. 5 (a coppery gold) and No.12 (a mink, rose gold). The colours blend beautifully together and the range is pretty extensive, so there’s something for everybody.

img_6919

Natural Collection Mascara -I suffer with sensitive eyes, and as there are so many mascaras on the market it can be daunting finding “the one”. I’ve tried so many but they all seem to sting my eyes and make them run. I decided to give Natural Collection mascaras a go and they have been a godsend. They create buildable length and volume easily without clumping, they are smudge proof, they don’t flake and they don’t sting or make my eyes run. And they’re fragrance free. For £1.99 that’s pretty good going. I always get asked what mascara I use and when I tell people they’re gobsmacked it’s a budget product that creates such a dramatic effect.

img_6924

Eye Pencils, Eye Liner and Eyebrow Definer – I have a selection from No 7 which smudge for a smokey look or to add definition. The shades are beautiful and very flattering. My favourite Maxfactor eyeliner is in shade Khaki and the pencil is nice and thin to easily define and eccentuate any eye shape. I’m in love with MUA’s Eye Define felt tip liner. It’s super quick and easy to create a feline flick. No 7 Eyebrow Sculpture Pencil is by far one of the best eyebrow products I’ve discovered. The slanted shaped pencil makes filling in brows a breeze and the product is really high quality. The result is very natural, polished looking brows.

img_6920img_6921

Please let me know about your favourite make up products! Xxx

2 thoughts on “What’s in my Make-up Bag

Leave a Reply

