Epilation…To do, or not to do?

After much deliberation, I’ve finally plucked up the courage and purchased an epilator. It will be just solely for use on my legs (I’m not brave enough to use it anywhere else!) Shaving my legs has become a bit of a nuisance. I always seem to nick myself and then I get really itchy, sore skin afterwards. Plus the stubble/regrowth one day after isn’t great, either. After experiencing waxing I wasn’t too keen on the idea of any other form of hair removal apart from shaving (I never thought I could stand the pain!) I never even considered epilating as an option, I literally thought oh my goodness there’s no way I can stand that. But after reading reviews and thinking further about it, I checked out some epilators and found one on offer. The one I went for was the Braun Silk-épil 5 5780. After having a quick read of the back of the box I just went for it and popped it in my basket.

img_7002Braun is a trusted brand and I own other products by them which I love, so I was happy to try one of their epilators. The features of the Braun Silk-épil 5 5780 Epilator are…

* An extra gentle epilation with a Comfort System composed of high frequency massaging rollers and a cooling glove to soothe the skin

* 40 Close-Grip tweezers remove even the shortest hairs as fine as a grain of sand (0.5 mm)

* 7 attachments including a shaver head, a trimmer cap, sensitive area cap, facial cap, massage cap, skin content cap and a cooling glove

* Fully washable under running water

* Smartlight helps you find even the finest hairs for no miss removal

* Speed personalization allows you to select the right speed for your individual needs

This epilator is so easy to use, pop it into the plug socket, twist the dial and away you go. It’s mains powered only, which is fine for me but I suppose it would’ve been more convenient if you could use it in the bath or shower. It’s easy to clean, too.

So the big question… what about the pain? I’ve heard people talk about how painful epilators are to use. Some people say “oh it’s fine, just a little uncomfortable” and others have been like “it freaking well hurts!” My opinion? It’s no more painful than tweezing your eyebrows, and I do have to grit my teeth a bit, but I figured, as I’ve been through childbirth I think I can stand a few minutes of epilating! I found the first initial use quite uncomfortable but after that, because my hair was shorter, it was far less painful. I found it easier once I’d had a bath or shower beforehand to soften my skin and open up my pores so the hair can be removed a little easier.

I’m really happy with this product so far and I’m glad I decided to purchase. I wish I could use it on my underarms but that is going a step to far for me pain wise I’m afraid, and I’m not even going to consider using it on my bikini line. NO WAY. It comes with a cooling glove (which I’ll never use) and a storage pouch. To be honest I think the storage pouch could be a little more practical, it isn’t sturdy enough to store it sufficiently, it’s very flimsy and there’s hardly any room so I won’t be using that.

So is epiliating worth it? I think so. If you usually shave, like myself, then it can take a little while to get used to it but it’s so lovely not having to shave every day!

Leave a Reply

